Factory Reset Protection – Why Should You Do It and How?

Just some years ago, when you lost your phone, it was just that – it was gone. You could contact your carrier and notify them about the loss or theft, so that they wouldn’t add any calls or messages to your bill. However, beyond that you got very limited options.

A little later, recovery options were introduced with which you could find out where your phone was (maybe in a taxi or at a restaurant).

While those solutions can be a lot of help, all the thief has to do is to do a factory resent, pop in a new SIM and they are good to go with a brand new phone. Even remote wiping and location tracking don’t deter thefts.

So, now a great new feature has been introduced – Factory Reset Protection. If you often resell your phones or buy used phones, you should know about this. It’s also recommended to learn Samsung bypass Google verify apk.

Factory Reset Protection

Factory Reset Protection is a component of a feature named Device Protection which was introduced by Google in March 2015. Several OEMs included the new features in their flagship phones so as to discourage potential thieves. If your phone runs on Android 5.1 (or later), if Google account is used on your phone and if a lock screen is set up on your phone, your phone may use FRP without even your knowledge.

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

FRP protects your phone from someone else using a Factory Reset for wiping your phone and using it without you authorizing it. Previously, for resetting your phone, Factory data reset feature in the backup and reset settings could be used or you had to do the reset via the bootloader interface.

Whatever option you use, once you factory reset the phone, on devices enabling FRP, you will receive the message during the setup process that this device was reset and sign in with a Google Account earlier synced on this device to continue.

In simple words, it was factory reset in one of the Google accounts you had set on the phone when it was factory reset and that’s it. However, in case of not knowing your username and password, you would be in a fix (though not really).

Proper Factory Reset

To avoid such a circumstance, you will have to do some more steps before factory resetting your phone.

If you want to resell your phone, it’s recommended that you encrypt your phone to properly reset it. This takes a really long time and you will have to plug in the power, but it will scramble your personal data so as to make it impossible to recover by somebody else.

  • Next, you have to go in Settings, then Security and then set your Screen Lock to “None”.
  • Next, in Settings, then in Accounts, remove all accounts particularly Google accounts.
  • Finally, only after performing the previous steps, you may do a factory data reset.

This method will ensure that your device is not bound to a specific Google account and the other person can easily set it up.